EC fixes Maharashtra & Haryana polls on 21 October: By poll to 5 seats in Kerala to be held on the same date

New Delhi: Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced the date for Assembly elections for the states of Maharashtra and Haryana. In addition, the by polls to 64 other constituencies spread across the country will also be held on the same day.

The date of polling for both the states is on 21 October and the counting of the votes is scheduled on 24 October. The Maharashtra assembly has 288 seats while Haryana has 90 seats.

Kerala will witness by polls to five Assembly constituencies on 21 October. The constituencies are Mancheshwaram, Ernakulam, Konni, Aroor, and Vattiyoorkavu. While Mancheshwaram constituency fell vacant after the death of sitting MLA P. B. Abdul Razak, the other four seats were vacated when the MLAs in the respective constituencies stood for Lok Sabha election and won.

Both states will have single-phase elections. Notifications for the elections will be issued on 27 September. The last date for filing nominations is October 4 and the deadline for withdrawing them is 7 October.

Maharashtra has an electorate of 8.94 crores eligible to vote, while Haryana has an electorate of 1.82 crores eligible to cast their votes.

The 5-year term of the Legislative Assemblies of Haryana and Maharashtra expires on 2nd November and 9th November.

By-elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana &Uttar Pradesh, to be held on the same date announced for assembly election in Maharashtra and Haryana. And the counting for the same will be on 24 October.


Scroll down for comments


Post Your Comments

Back to top button